Rusty Fork VII: I failed CAMP NANOWRIMO

Rusty Fork VII: I failed CAMP NANOWRIMO

IMG_6718.JPG

It’s 4:48 PM on April 30th, and I think that it’s safe to say, I will not be writing 28,000+ words to complete the 50,000 word goal that I set myself for Camp NaNoWriMo. I’m still incredibly proud, and I’m more motivated now than ever.

“Liz, you’ve been quiet on this blog recently. Are you okay?”

I might have been quiet here, but I’ve been having a good fucking time writing on my WIP. Really, you guys should come visit. It’s full of crude jokes and horny women who don’t give a fuck.  It’s awesome. I’ve been expending all my writing energy into this project, obviously. I was able to reread the first two books in the Court of Thorns and Roses series in preparation for the trash heap, ACOWAR, that comes out May 2nd. I also started Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier which is so good you guys. It’s AMAZING, but I’m reading it slowly. I’ll write a review when I get the time.

Back to the writing…

I worked on my WIP everyday this month. 21,584 words in April makes this my most productive month in a long time. I was in a writing slump before Camp, but I’ve got a clearer picture and fresh motivation. Some days were just 500 words or a few hours spent researching, but I was able to get some of the pivotal scenes worked out. I’ve planned out my plot more thoroughly than I’ve done in the past, and I think I now have the final-ish blue prints that will help me fill in all the gaps. Nothing is ever set in stone with an outline or rough draft, but I think that this current iteration is the most cohesive.

My WIP is now officially at 33,057 words. Roughly, 30,000 words to go.

This was my first time participating in a NaNo event, and I think the best part of the experience was my cabin which included other writers. It was encouraging to see their updates. Some of my friends have recently started writing blogs which you should check out. I’m always creepin’ on these ladies, and you should too.

Lainey

Riley

So I continue on…

I lost the battle, but there is still a war to be won. I think that I’d look damn good in battle armor.

Rusty Fork   Rusty Fork II: Strength   Rusty Fork III: The Tools   Rusty Fork IV: Location, Location, Location   Rusty Fork V: Character-sitter   Rusty Fork VI: CAMP NANOWRIMO

3 thoughts on “Rusty Fork VII: I failed CAMP NANOWRIMO

  1. Hey, I wouldn’t say you failed.

    I didn’t meet my word count goal either but I got SO MUCH work done on my story. I got the outline really concrete in my head, I learned more about the characters and their motivations and I worked out some things that needed worked out.

    So basically, in the month of April, all my thoughts and energy were going to my novel, even though I didn’t get a ton of writing done. Sounds like you had a similar experience..so I would count that as a success!

    Are you going to do Camp Nanowrimo in July? I think I’m going to. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I “failed” NaNoWriMo in the summer, but I don’t feel bad about it one bit. I learnt so much about writing and most importantly what I HATE about forced word counts. Months later I’m still writing, and loving it more than ever. Best of luck in your writing, I look forward to reading more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

